Forgot Password ?
IPC Governing Board Nominations (Media)

Bonn, Germany - A total of 31 nominations have been accepted for the elections to the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Governing Board 2009-2013. Out of the 31 nominations, one is for President, five for Vice President and 25 for the Member at Large positions. The elections will take place on 22 November in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, at the 2009 IPC General Assembly.

The GB will consist of one President, one Vice President and ten Members at Large. Furthermore, an Athletes’ Representative and the IPC Chief Executive Officer (CEO) will be ex-officio members of the GB.

The nominees for President, Vice President and Members at Large listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

For President:
Sir Philip Craven, Great Britain

For Vice President:
Ms. Ann Cody, USA
Mr. Greg Hartung, Australia
Mr. Patrick Jarvis, Canada
Mr. Tariq Mustafa, Pakistan
Mr. Miguel Sagarra, Spain

For Member at Large:
Dato Zainal Abu-Zarin, Malaysia
Mr. Saad Alazma, Kuwait
Mr. Mohammed M.A. Fahdel Alhameli, UAE
Mr. Masoud Ashrafi, Iran
Mr. Daniel Ben Abou, Israel
Mr. Chutinant Bhirombhakadi, Thailand
Mr. Jose Luis Campo, Argentina
Ms. Ann Cody, USA
Mr. Paul DePace, USA
Mr. Alan Dickson, Great Britain
Mr. Greg Hartung, Australia
Mr. Ali Harzallah, Tunisia
Ms. Hyang-Sook Jang, Korea
Mr. Patrick Jarvis, Canada
Ms. Ioanna Karyofylli, Greece
Ms. Chen Lee-Chou, Chinese Taipei
Dr. Vladimir Lukin, Russia
Mr. Tariq Mustafa, Pakistan
Mr. Karl Vilhelm Nielsen, Denmark
Mr. Andrew Parsons, Brazil
Mr. Simon Peterson, New Zealand
Dr. Karl Quade, Germany
Ms. Veronika Roos, Switzerland
Mr. Miguel Sagarra, Spain
Ms. Rita van Driel, Netherlands

We are pleased with the number of nominations that the membership has put forward, especially the increase of the number of female nominations. It is also encouraging to see the interest from a wide representation of IPC members”, said IPC CEO Xavier Gonzalez.

Last weekend, the IPC Legal Committee reviewed all nominations and confirmed that they meet the conditions for nominations as outlined in the Bylaws ‘IPC Governing Board Election and Nomination Policy and Procedures’.

Notes to the Editor:

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) is the global governing body of the Paralympic Movement. The IPC organizes the Summer and Winter Paralympic Games, and serves as the International Federation for nine sports, for which it supervises and co-ordinates the World Championships and other competitions. The IPC is committed to enabling Paralympic athletes to achieve sporting excellence and to developing sport opportunities for all persons with a disability from the beginner to elite level. In addition, the IPC aims to promote the Paralympic values, which include courage, determination, inspiration and equality.

Founded on 22 September 1989, the IPC is an international non-profit organization formed and run by 162 National Paralympic Committees (NPCs) from five regions and four disability specific international sports federations (IOSDs). The IPC Headquarters and its management team are located in Bonn, Germany. 
This website is developed with co-funding support from the VWOs-Charities Capability Fund (VCF)

Copyright © 2011. Singapore Disability Sports Council.
CONTACT US   l    Disclaimer   
Web Design & Development
by Forecepts