National Inclusive Swimming Championships

The National Inclusive Swimming Championships (NISC) is an annual Swimming championship formerly known as National Para Swimming Championships. The name change reflects the shift towards promoting inclusivity in sports and the community as a whole. NIAC sees to the inclusion of the deaf community in the event, in addition to persons with physical, intellectual and visual impairment. The annual meet is sponsored by the SPH Foundation and organised by the Singapore Disability Sports Council (SDSC). 2019 will see the ninth year of SPH Foundation sponsorship, as well as the 38th edition of the championships.

The competition aims are creating opportunities for persons with disabilities to swim at a competitive level. Annually, over 100 para-athletes from 18 special schools, associations and clubs are expected at the event. The competition also serves as a platform for SDSC coaches and officials to scout for potential candidates to nurture and enlist into the National squad in hopes that they will be able to proudly represent Singapore at international competitions. Outstanding performers may be selected to represent Singapore in regional and international competitions.
Previous editions of the competition have produced National Paralympians such as Theresa Goh, a multiple-gold medalist at the ASEAN Para Games and Yip Pin Xiu, the first Singaporean to win a Gold Medal at the Paralympics and world record-breaking swimmer.

Results for the National Inclusive Swimming Championships

Results for the National Para-Swimming Championships



Text Size